Reading problem.

Standard

I am going nuts I think.  I just cannot stop reading and reading and reading and it is taking over everything.  I have a reading problem.

I was reading Marcia’s blog  about the number of books read in a year and I read a lot.  I only realised it when I commented there.  And this weekend I remembered….

I read and read and lose myself in books when I am troubled.  Last year was a year of turmoil for me, in terms of work and getting used to big school with Honeybear.  Hubby and I seemed to to disconnect for bit too.  Living past each other, with all this stuff going on in our lives.

I am still reading like a crazy woman, and I do feel troubled.  Hubby is working longer hours with his new position and sometimes it is a whole twenty four hours before all three of us connect.  We connect among the routine of our lives, getting ready for work, school, laundry, cricket games…which is not much of a connection.  I am pretty busy working my day job and then my private work and then the PTA, and body corporate…and being a Mom.  I am so excited about HB learning to read, that I have to spend every afternoon with him, making sure he does not fall behind.  Hubby and I are back to stolen kisses and promises to sit down together.  Hubby works one weekend, I work the other weekend…and so it goes.

This all came to me as I sat in a dingy hot office on Friday morning with my latest student. The lady I was trying to sweet talk into helping started dishing out relationship advice to my student and myself.  She divorced her husband after 24 years.  You would think that after 24 years you have it sorted…you must never take things for granted.

She said that they divorced because they never made time for each  other anymore and that she did not understand his love language, and vice versa.  (we were there for 35 minutes, but that is the essence). This has had me thinking, in my weekend frenzy of reading.  Hubby and I need to take a time out.  We need to be with each other again.  I am not sure how I will make this happen. I am going to suck up my pride and I ask my long time friend if she is willing to have three kids for an afternoon, and maybe hubby and I can have an old-fashioned date.

I read because it helps me resolve things, and it helps me escape and it helps me breathe…escapism.

 

 

8 responses »

  1. I hear you… I too read to escape, (and play Candy Crush, but don’t do that. It’s digital crack) I love that books can take me away from reality.

  2. Yes, what a good idea! The date afternoon…afterall, it’s not like HB is a baby. I’m sure your friend won’t mind and if she does, I’ll take him 😉 As for the reading, I’m pretty much like you. I’d much rather read than watch tv in fact, and I do feel like when reading, I get to shut everything out. But I’m fully cognizant that this is “my time” and by using this time for me, I neglect my husband. So some nights, I make a conscious effort to sit with him or if he’s also pre-occupied (which for him, is watching tv!), then I at least sit in the lounge with him and continue to read, but at least we’re in each other’s presence 🙂

I want to read your thoughts....

