What will he say?

Standard
 I was listening to the radio the other morning and there was a woman there talking about how hard her life was.  They did not have a lot of money and she wondered if maybe her mother should get a better job, in order for them to be able to afford the things they needed.

This started me thinking….I know Honeybear has a mother with a good job, and salary.  He gets everything he needs, and then some.

My work is important to me.  I love what I do and I take pride in doing a good job.
Will he one day say that I should have had a better job because he did not get everything (because I do not give him everything).
Will he say that he had a mother who loved her job more than she loved him, and spent too much time working?
Will he say that he had a mother who loved her work and he wants to be like that one day?

I wonder what our children will think about us.

I now realise exactly how hard my parents worked, and exactly how privileged I have been and still am.

This lady on the radio had a desire to go to university and obtain a degree, so that she could have a good job, and have a better life.  She was inspired by hardship, to be better.  And she is.  Does she think it was her Mom who inspired her, or was her Mom not good enough?

My Mom is the best.   How many children can say that they had a full-time stay-at-home Mom, who did everything for them, I mean everything.  Breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks, and even midnight snacks to see you through the long nights studying.  She would ensure you had everything, do everything, be there, listen, and understand.
Will I be as good as my Mom is?  Will HB look at me with the same wonder and awe that I have for my Mom? 
8 responses »

  1. I sometimes wish that Liam could see my Mum the way she was when I was growing up. She was at home until I was in Std 4 and then she went off to work. We had everything we needed, even a live in maid, goodness.
    Liam knows DH and I work hard so that we can give him all he needs. At the moment I don’t think he feels hard done by. I mean we are there, we don’t pawn him off on anyone. When we are at home are with him. We don’t go off and do our own things. We do things as a family.
    You are a fab mum, and don’t you forget it.

  2. I have often wondered about this – when my kids were younger they often expressed anger and sadness because I work. I do think they understand a bit better now but there is still the absolute urge for met to be at sports events.

  3. I understand what you are saying completely.Hubbie and I discuss this often and we also hope our girls appreciate all we are doing for them and understand why we work so hard

  4. I don’t think anyone really gets their parents’ motivations.

    In “my day” parents didn’t come to things at school so it was never my expectation. You just got on and did things. I’m of course not shy to tell my kids why it’s important for me to work (not for money, but for the fact that I want to contribute in that way and that I’m good at it.

    A commenter on my blog once said everybody wants something different from what they had 🙂

    PS thank you for your comment. It made me think “the inspiring in other things not as I intend to inspire” 🙂

    • I had my parents at everything, at the very least my Mom. Sports, awards, she even brought us an afternoon snack in primary school. I think that is one of the good things when there is an extended family structure to offer support.
      My little one just knows I work at an office. My decision to have one child definitely comes from having grown up in a big family.

I want to read your thoughts....

