Good to go

Standard

Hello All,

I am feeling a bit better this morning, after finally having a good night’s sleep (as good as it gets with a 2 year old in the bed). No work calls in the middle of the night for hubby and Honeybear was either sleeping on Papa or decently in the middle of the bed (because I was not disturbed).

Yesterday when I arrived at home, all ideas of taking it easy flew out of my head. I settled Honeybear with snacks and Smurfs and started cooking.   I had to bath Honeybear early because he forgot the difference between the toilet and his pants. I guess at only 2.5, this is to be expected sometimes. As soon as hubby arrived home I whisked everyone out to do some shopping (our Checkers is open until 8pm). I am a control freak and I wanted the bulk of the shopping to be done before the weekend (we are having a birthday party for hubby)

The cold is not gone yet, but I feel energised to get my act together. Tonight I have to sort our cupcake boxes. I have an idea for carrot cupcakes….need to work out the cream cheese frosting, so if anyone has a good one, please send it my way.

I like organising things, so if I was not doing my current job, I may have become an event planner.

I hope the weather remains nice for hubby. He deserves a treat and day about him. I forget sometimes, exactly how overwhelming and forceful my personality can be. It takes over and does not always give you a chance, in a bad way. You would never say it on first impressions, and that is what fools most people.

On the fighting with hubby front: We are still doing fine. Talking the short talks as needed and making sure we are on the same page. I try to let things go and hubby understands too, I am not as laid back he is, so for me it is very difficult. It also helps that we have a plan laid for the next month and the end of month treat (our 6th wedding anniversary). Maybe it is time we actually went out with just each other and had an adult outing without Honeybear. Since Honeybear arrived, we have had only two outings without him.

I do not love my child any less, but I think Mama and Papa also need to have a moment. We need to spend time taking care of us too.

The advantages of blogging here in WordPress….I could set up a template for work like a whizz….plus points for me!

8 responses »

  1. Best cream cheese icing in the world!

    285 grams. cream cheese, chilled
    6½ tbsp. unsalted butter, at room temperature
    3¼ cups confectioners’ sugar, sifted
    4 tsp. vanilla essence

    Put all ingredients together, beat until fluffy – depending on how much you use, this is good enough for about 24 cupcakes. You can exchange the vanilla essence for filter coffee – it makes for an absolute fantactic icing – especially with chocolate cupcakes.

  2. Absolutely! You NEED adult time!! We try to have date night at least twice a month and we get away from the kids as often as we can (sounds bad!). Husband works away so we don’t even have time together like most couples do once the kids go to bed, so we really work hard to spend some alone time together.

  3. Ohhhh … runnermum’s recipe looks delish!

    Hope hubby really enjoys his birthday 🙂

    Hubby and I try to do date nights every couple of months and on our wedding anniversary we also spend time alone, away from the kids. It doesn’t mean we don’t love our kids or we love them less than other people love theirs … But we feel like our marriage and our relationship is the foundation on which our family is built and we need to keep that foundation strong. That means keeping our connection to each other as husband and wife, partners, lovers, best friends etc. strong 🙂 That’s our way of looking at it anyway 🙂 So I’m quite pro the occasional grown-up night out. Not like we do it ever week, or even every month … though we keep saying that we should do it monthly … but somehow life gets in the way … so we do it when we can! 🙂

    Glad you’re feeling better!!

    PS. Being a party planner/wedding planner etc would be like a dream job for me 🙂

  4. DH and I have only had 2 nights alone since Liam was born and he’s nearly 5! But that’s us, we don’t mind and don’t feel we need a break. We also don’t have our own night where one goes out without the other.
    I’m not much of a baker so this whole icing thing sounds like such a mountain. The best I can do is biscuits and those ready made muffin things. Oh, and shortbread from the maizena box.
    PS, I’m a control freak also, hehe

  5. Taking time outcome yourselves is very important,we have a breakfast date once a month and in this short time we sort out all the niggles we both have.
    Hope the party is fun love cream cheese frosting.

  6. Hope you had a nice weekend and that the birthday party for hubby turned out great. A very happy birthday to him!
    We don’t have many outings without Jamie and I do not have a babysitter nearby for the evenings, so every so often hubby and I take a day off work and then it’s “our day” while Jamie is at school and blissfully unaware that his parents are having fun without him. We usually go have breakfast, see a movie, then lunch etc. Haha but every single time we miss him and feel guilty so end up cutting our day short to fetch him from daycare early :p

I want to read your thoughts....

