Feels too long

Standard

This has been such a long long week.  I can’t believe I still have to get to work again tomorrow.  Honeybear is doing a little better.  He only wakes 2-3 times a night looking for milk and cuddles. We have decided to put up with this until the end of the year, and then we might try to take away the night feedings.  This will only work if we can get him to eat more during the day.  I don’t want to encourage him to eat a huge meal because I do thing the habit of many smaller meals is a good way to eat.  One day at a time.
Hubby and I were not too happy with each other yesterday.  He only gets two weekends of a month, so I really treasure those weekends we are all home together. He also gets 0 leave during the holiday season, so when I am forced to be at home during December, he is forced to work. Any holiday time together has to be specially organised during the year, and this is not easy on my side because the forced December leave is part of my 15 days of annual leave. So the weekends at home together is very important to me.
This weekend, which should be his weekend off….he has to work on Sunday.  And to top it all, he is not getting paid the correct rate for the Sunday, in fact he is getting paid even less than he would be paid for a normal day.  And he just accepts it. 
I feel that if he is not getting paid fairly, then he must just say no.  If he is going to take away our family time, then he must be fairly compensated with money.  I did not make that point in the most diplomatic way.  I know it is difficult for him to speak up with the powers that be.  I know it, but he just has to do it.  Family time together is really important to me.  So if you are going to take away some of it, then I need to know we are getting something for it.
We were happy with each other by the time we sat down to dinner.  I don’t know what he is going to say today.  I don’t even know if he will have the courage to speak up and negotiate his pay. He might come home and tell me he has and he actually has not.  I know it is a difficult position for him, but I feel like he should have been able to work this out for himself.
Marriages!
I am not going to fight with him about this anymore.  I think I have made my point of view adequately clear.  Poor hubby.
 
Honeybear has eaten dinner happily, 3 evenings in a row! I thought I would have to be feeding him mashed potatoes forever, but we managed carrot and pear without a hitch.  Another thing, he eats with Mama.  Papa has not had much success. 
 
We are managing to keep the house looking decent these days.  The deep cleaning leaves much to be desired.  However, should we have unexpected guests, we won’t be embarrassed by the state of our home.  I wish we could find a domestic worker that actually wants to work for us. 
 
Will everyone please come back?

4 responses »

  1. What is it with our men? DH is also not happy with his recent increase, considering his extra workload, but he refuses to say anything to the BIGBOSS.
    Yay on Honeybear’s meals. Things get better, they really will. I think we give up too easily when we should actually just persevere through the storm.
    I miss everyone also. Kind of feels like you are chatting to yourself nowadays. I miss everyones’ supportive comments.
    Have a good one 🙂

    • Thanks for still commenting on my posts. I’m still having trouble getting to other posts when I log in. Men take the part of least resistance and then complain.This has been such a long long week.  I can’t believe I still have to get to work again tomorrow.  Honeybear is doing a little better.  He only wakes 2-3 times a night looking for milk and cuddles. We have decided to put up with this until the end of the year, and then we might try to take away the night feedings.  This will only work if we can get him to eat more during the day.  I don’t want to encourage him to eat a huge meals because I do thing the habit of many smaller meals is a good way to eat.  One day at a time.
      Hubby and I were not too happy with each other yesterday.  He only gets two weekends of a month, so I really treasure those weekends we are all home together. He also gets 0 leave during the holiday season, so when I am forced to be at home during December, he is forced to work. Any holiday time together has to be specially organised during the year, and this is not easy on my side because the forced December leave is part of my 15 days of annual leave. So the weekends at home together is very important to me.
      This weekend, which should be his weekend off….he has to work on Sunday.  And to top it all, he is not getting paid the correct rate for the Sunday, in fact he getting paid even less than he would be paid for a normal day.  And he just accepts it. 
      I feel that if he is not getting paid fairly, then he must just say no.  If he is going to take away our family time, then he must be fairly compensated with money.  I did not make that point in the most diplomatic way.  I know it is difficult for him to speak up with the powers that be.  I know it, but he just has to do it.  Family time together is really important to me.  So if you are going to take away some of it, then I need to know we are getting something for it.
      We were happy with each other by the time we sat down to dinner.  I don’t know what he is going to say today.  I don’t even know if he will have the courage to speak up and negotiate his pay. He might come home and tell me he has and he actually has not.  I know it is a difficult position for him, but I feel like he should have been able to work this out for himself.
      Marriages!
      I am not going to fight with him about this anymore.  I think I have made my point of view adequately clear.  Poor hubby.
       
      Honeybear has eaten dinner happily, 3 evenings in a row! I thought I would have to be feeding him mashed potatoes forever, but we managed carrot and pear without a hitch.  Another thing, he eats with Mama.  Papa has not had much success. 
       
      We are managing to keep the house looking decent these days.  The deep cleaning leaves much to be desired.  However, should we have unexpected guests, we won’t be embarrassed by the state of our home.  I wish we could find a domestic worker that actually wants to work for us. 
       
      Will everyone please come back?

  2. I feel the same way about Hubby having to work over weekends and not being compensated for it as he should be, it makes me mad! I hope he actually manages to negotiate his pay!

    Glad Honeybear is eating happily, it’s a relief when eating is a success!

    I wish we could get our DG back but we can’t afford her anymore 😦

    I wish everyone would come back too… I think Scott is ignoring us now because he’s not adhering to my pleas of putting us back on Letterdash!

    HAve a great weekend MC!

    • I’m not sure we can go back to Letterdash. Just don’t understand why this platform does not work as well as it did in the beginning. And there is no one who seems to be admin to check out issues

I want to read your thoughts....

