Pumpkin fritters

Standard

Tourmaline asked for my pumpkin fritter recipe. This is not “my” recipe, just the one I use, but like we all do, I have to go change it.

1 cup cooked pumpkin, mashed and well-drained

2 eggs

1 cup flour

Pinch of salt

 ½ teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 ½ teaspoons baking powder

1 tablespoon sugar

1 teaspoon lemon juice

I think a sweet pumpkin works best. Butternut tastes very good with this. Don’t cook the pumpkin in water. Either cook it in the oven or on a rack above the water (I think it is a steaming basket?) If there is too much water in, the fritter does not have as much flavour.

 Beat eggs and add to pumpkin and mix. Add the rest of the of the ingredient and mix well into a thick batter.

 If you have time, let the batter sit on the counter for 30 minutes. It makes a lighter fluffier fritter.

I use a heavy skillet. I spray it with cooking spray and put down a tablespoon of mix. Use the back of the spoon to flatten it out because the batter is very thick. It is tempting to add milk or water to thin it out, but this affects the taste. When you see bubbles then it is ready to turn over. You know you have it right when the fritter is spongy. The fritters will rise a bit while cooking. You may need to adjust the heat so they don’t brown too quick on the outside and remain raw inside. Let the skillet heat up to medium heat and that is perfect.

 You can make this with sweetpotato too. I want to try it with apple and cinnamon, but I just have not got around to doing so yet. They freeze really well and it makes a great dinner for everyone. You can adjust the cinnamon and sugar according to your taste. I use treacle sugar instead of normal white sugar, but normal white sugar works just as well too. If you have an egg ring, they make a nice way to present the fritters as perfectly round….they look like scotch pancakes. Remember to spray the ring too. Don’t use the olive oil flavoured cooking spray, it has too strong a taste.

Writing this I think it would be great to do savoury potato fritters this way. Hmmm….you have gotten me thinking about all sorts now. We had a huge pumpkin so we had to think of things to do with it. We made pumpkin pie…..that was so extremely yummy that I made two more and stuck them in the freezer for a healthy dessert.

2 responses »

  1. I’ve copied this now and will make it sommer today, while Caleb is sleeping! Looking forward to it, although I think I have to make it with sweet potato (facepalm) I just remembered my butternut is finished 😦

    Thanks MC!!

I want to read your thoughts....

