Update on last night

Standard

Honeybear’s first waking was 01h30 this morning.  He did wake again at 03h00, and I fed him again, after papa had no success getting him to stay asleep.  Perhaps this is the beginning?

I dressed him the same and fed him the same and it has worked two nights in a row, hopefully it stays this way.  I did take him out for a walk before his dinner, Mama needs exercise and baby needs fresh air. 

We have been trying to teach him to sleep without nursing to sleep.  The Elizabeth Pantley method of gently encouraging your baby to not need you to sleep.

I breastfeed him the first time and I stop before he falls asleep.  Then I sit next to the cot and read or hum him to sleep if he is still fussy, or just wait quietly until he falls asleep. Takes about twenty minutes.  Papa is still not acceptable to him at night. 

We have also taken away the dummy during the day.  Dummies are strictly for sleeping only, and get given, only if he is in his cot.  No longer is it attached to him.  This is making a difference in that he drinks more milk and eats better.  We tried to take it away in April, but when I saw the finger substituting the dummy, we gave it back to him.  This time around, he is so busy during the day, he does not seem to notice it missing.  He is not sticking his fingers in the mouth and does not seem to have the need to suck on it all the time. 

The walking along furniture is progressing steadily, though he does find it faster to just crawl to the other side sometimes. 

Tonight I am going to give him beetroot for the first time.  I hope he eats it.  I hate the stuff.  He seems to have my hate for sweet potato too.  Any ideas on how to prepare it?

On the sweet potato topic.  We have this huge 10kg bag of sweet potatoes.  It has to get eaten.  What to do?  I hate it and it is too much for hubby to eat.  I did make some oven chips with it, which hubby loved, mama and baby did not.  The I decided to make sweet potato scones.  The mix came out too wet, so I baked them in a muffin pan. 

What do you know, mama and baby both eat sweet potato now.  The muffins are lovely and so quick to throw together.  The next thing to try is sweet potato fritters.  I have made fritters with pumpkin and cinnamon, now I shall try sweet potato and nutmeg fritters.  They are great for Honeybear too.  (Mine are oil free…no greasy fritters)

Anyway, work calls.  Have a great day all!

9 responses »

  1. So glad that your method is working 🙂

    Hmm, I love sweet potato…hubby made a yummie cottage pie, mixing sweet potato with normal potato, it came out so delicous!! Please share the muffin recipe if you can, I’m always baking muffins for work or snacks, and chocolate and vanilla gets a bit boring 😉

    Have a great day!!

  2. What great news! I also can’t stand sweet potato… So if you can share that muffin recipe it will be great! Don’t get a fright when you get that first post beetroot nappy!!

  3. Glad to hear you are making progress! The dummy thing is great and its amazing how they show you when they are ready for something like that 🙂 I love sweet potato! One of my favourite ways to cook it is in a roasting dish with lamb/pork chops. I put a bit of wine at the bottom of the dish (obviously this wont suit the both of you, maybe some water instead) with some spices and let it roast slowly. They are sweeter and take on the taste of the spices.

  4. I know I did it wrong, always fed Liam to sleep when he was a baby and then gently put him down. Even know, we fall asleep on the big bed then I carry him to his room. We must sort that.
    Liam likes beetroot right out of the jar, vinegar and all, but he is 3 so I think his tastebuds are a bit more mature that Honeybears.
    Me don’t like sweet potato, no matter how it is cooked. To me potatoes must be savoury and smothered with yummy gravy.
    Good luck, I look forward to reading more on your progress
    Hugs

  5. Glad your new approach is working out! 🙂

    Can’t help with the sweet potato … we don’t eat alot of it and when we do it’s usually just roasted …
    Hope Honeybear takes to beetroot 🙂

  6. LOVE sweet potato! Cut in halve, drizzle with olive oil, sprinkle some brown sugar and cinnamon on, wrap in foil and bake in the oven. Serve with lemon butter and extra cinnamon sugar.

  7. Muffins sound like a great plan. You can freeze them too.
    Not sure about beets, I always buy them ready prepared. I imagine roasting them would be yum

I want to read your thoughts....

