Aqueous cream

Standard

Honeybear has what I assume is eczema. The doctor said to us it was nothing to worry about and to just moisturise.   So what do we do. We moisturise, many tmes a day. His one cheek just looks extra dry and he has dry spots on the one side of one elbow. So we religiously moisturise and this thing is actually getting worse.

So I am now thinking what else can we do to moisturise this child’s skin. I then remember being told at the antenatal classes that we can bath baby with aqueous cream, and I remember they used to bath him with it in the hospital. This is the same aqueous cream we have religiously been applying to his body. The cream given by the hospital. We also have many pots of the stuff. Johnsons, Elizabeth Annes, Woolies, Bennets….all sorts. So I decide to give him a bath with the stuff to help keep his skin moist.

How do you bath him with the cream? Put it into the water or rub it on like soap? I decide to Google it. (I love google and I am a crazy google person. ) What pops up in my search “aqueous cream + bath”

Numerous articles that say aqueous cream is bad for eczema. Aqueous cream actually thins the skin and dries the skin. Aqueous cream was originally developed as a soap, not a cream and you should not put it onto your skin and leave it there.

‘Aqueous cream contains 1% sodium lauryl sulphate (SLS) and this is the ingredient, we believe, that causes damage to the skin barrier.  The majority of other emollient creams in Europe do not contain SLS and are safe and effective products.  It would be advisable to check the label of any emollient cream to verify that it does not contain SLS.’

aqueous cream damages the skin barrier in volunteers who have never had atopic eczema.  Aqueous cream is likely to cause even more severe damage in the skin barrier in children and adults with atopic eczema.  Aqueous cream should never be used as a leave-on emollient as it is likely to exacerbate, rather than improve, the eczema.’

(from eczema.org)

Go google it and read for yourself. We have been using aqueous cream thinking it was the best thing for Honeybear’s young skin. The only time the eczema was better was when I was using the sunblock as an everyday lotion.

 

Hindsight is 20/20

19 responses »

  1. I used to use some of my left over tissue oil on L’s dry patches. I used the Johnsons. You can even try some tea tree oil. Just nothing with too much “flavour” in as it might irritate the skin more. I think you run the cream under the running water???Funny enough, I’ve never been a big fan of aqueous cream, it’s too thick. I can’t even think of the cream I’ve been using for ages, it’s in a white upside down bottle with a little baby on it. It’s a sleeptime one so it’s got a lavendar colour lid. I think it’s Johnsons also, buy mine at Clicks

  2. I’ve heard that the Sebamed range is quite good. Honestly, I’ve never been a fan of Aquaous cream, it always makes me itch like crazy and really doesn’t help one bit for dry skin.Right now, I am loving the Oh So Heavenly range the white “milk & yoghurt” one from Clicks, but unfortunately they don’t make for little ones, but that is the only thing that keeps this crazy dry, overly sensitive skin of mine in tact.

  3. We use Epizone A. It’s dead cheap and you can get it at Dischem. I now use it as a general cream for myself as well because it’s just so rich and lovely. The doc also gave a prescription cream called Advantan. I used the Sebamed stuff for a while but it’s so ridiculously expensive I didn’t feel it was worth it.

  4. Layla has terrible eczema. We bath her in Epizone E, I take a small amount straight out the tub, rub it on her skin (just like you would soap) and then rinse it off. Pure glycerine soap is also good, sometimes we also add a rooibos teabag to the bath as it supposedly soothes the skin. Remember then to moisturize again after the bath, for this we use Epimax Junior.Good luck.

  5. Blossoms has little bouts of eczema every now and then and there is NOTHING better (for us) than using Advantan cream (you need a prescription for this though). I only apply the Advantan once en the eczema is gone within a day. So if you are still struggling I would suggest asking your doctor for it.We are also using Aqueous cream…

  6. Jessica also had bouts of eczema – could only use clean water on her face, and then frangrance free aqueous crem. Think she ‘outgrew’ the allergy/reaction. Still cant use just any soap – Johnsons works best Top to Toe, but can now put normal moisturising lotion on her (also Johnsons pink pump bottle). You can also try putting the baby oil bathsoap in the water – will help for moisturisation. šŸ™‚ (PS got a cream from the Paed, cant remember the name – worked quick, not topical or cortisone in!)

  7. We were told not to use J&J. I have allergies to the adult J&J stuff and doc said Honeybear might react too (after I bought all the J&J baby stuff!)Took your advice about the oil and it is working so well. His skin is back to its old self. Thanks.

  8. Thanks, I bought the Epi cream. The paed said his eczema is not serious enough to use a corticosteriod cream, just to use normal lotion.

  9. Paed did not want to prescribe the corticosteriod cream, saying his eczema is not serious enuogh, that we should just use normal cream. The oil and Epizone Junior has worked great. The ladies know what they are talking about. His eczema is no more.

  10. I was worried about having to go the coritsone route. We are still using the top to Toe (even though it is J&J). We were told not too use any J&J. However, he is getting better.

  11. Oh dear we have been using aqueous on BM as well! Will try something else. Maybe that stuff they advertise on the TV, E46 or something.

I want to read your thoughts....

