Ante-Natal Classes

Standard

Hello Bloggies, Hubby and I have been talking about Kittens birth and what we might do to educate ourselves. The first thing that comes to mind is the antenatal classes. However, they do not seem to be the thing I thought they were. There seems to be some kind of movie on the different types of birth, some class on breastfeeding, bathing the baby, post birth care of yourself and infant CPR. To be honest, I do not want to have classes on care of the baby. I have been reading endlessly and our Mommies will be there to help us and teach us. I can see the value in infant CPR, but I do not want to the other stuff. What hubby and I are looking for is something that will help us to make the birth process easier. Something that will help us prepare and know better what to expect and what options we have. I have looked a little at Hypnobirthing, which looks promising. I have been meditating by myself and trying to learn more about my boy, however, it looks like the actual classes have more to offer. However, where is one able to do this in Pretoria? I see there is a woman who seems very successful in Cape Town. In Pretoria, there does not seem to be a whole heap happening. Anyone know? I saw the Natural Healing centre, however, their email does not work. Another one that looks good is the one at the Femina Clinic. You can pick what you would like to attend, and the sessions are per couple, at a time you can arrange with the midwife. Has anyone tried these? Does one actual need ante-natal classes?

2 responses »

  1. My mom helps out with the ante-natal classes at Unitas and they mostly provide info, so you know what there is and if there is something you want to take further. Please send me a message if you want more info on the content. I thought I knew most of the stuff because my mom is a midwife and I’ve been exposed to it for so long but I have learnt a great deal in these classes.

  2. Hey arcat. J2 and I went for ante-natal classes and it was the best thing that I could have done. The one that I went to gave detailed information on preparing you for the birth itself and the types of birth. I would suggest that you guys go for it. It will definitely help you in the long run.

I want to read your thoughts....

